Beauty · Lips

Maybelline Vivid Hot Lacquer

Whilst I was in France, I had the intention of buying something I couldn’t get in the UK… But then I spotted a Maybelline store and got excited. I’ve only ever seen Maybelline concessions in the UK, not actual outlets.

I don’t own a lip lacquer. I’m on the hunt for a non-drying, more brown toned nude lip product. The majority of my lip products are mauve or similar.

The shade “charmer” instantly stood out to me, so that was my pick. Not really what I set out for, but definitely a beautiful colour. Similar to my collection but different!!

IMG_20170624_183144

Drugstore. Standard packaging. Standard price (£7.99).

The applicator isn’t the standard doe-foot, but is curved with a dip on one side and a small bump on the other. I think this design is becoming more common, but apart from a slight increase in precision when applying closer to the edges of your lips, I don’t really see the benefit. I personally prefer something flat, but this isn’t an issue for me at all.

IMG_20170624_183713
Dipped side
IMG_20170624_183720
Bump side

In terms of formula, I had to use this a few times to get used to it. On first use, I was convinced I’d never like it – I found it extremely sticky and I would get a separating line and a load of patchiness where the inner section of my lip started (does that make sense?!) …A month of not-so-frequent use later, I’ve realised that less is more and this simply isn’t a product to keep layering. That’s when it gets unbearably sticky. My lips have to be absolutely bone dry in order to get a non-patchy application and no separating line, which is slightly awkward for me as I’m definitely a compulsive lip-licker 😦

Staying power: Average to poor. Food and drink will slide this stuff right off your lips. It transfers a greasy layer onto things. You really have to be committed to reapplying this throughout the day. Don’t accidentally hit yourself in the face (I do this more than is probably normal) – it’s sticky… I also highly doubt you’d want to kiss anyone with this on…

Thinking about the general wear, if I’m just out and about not eating etc, I don’t ever get to the point of forgetting I have product on my lips. This stuff is sticky (have I mentioned stickiness enough yet?) Any movement of the mouth will remind you your lips aren’t bare. The level of glossiness is quite surprising, but I don’t think I’d call this lightweight unless you’re completely mute/keep your mouth 100% still all day. It fades too quickly for my liking too – it won’t last a day.

On the plus side, this works very well with dry lips (dry in the chapped sense). It’s much more forgiving than a standard lipstick. It has a slightly sweet scent, but thankfully it isn’t overpowering as many liquid lipstick scents are. It also has no taste, which I am massively in favour of.

As a personal preference, I like my lip products to look as seamless as possible and feel lightweight with minimal effort, so I give this product a 2/5. I commonly see some shades (of any product type) applying better than another within the same line (always found that weird), but I’m honestly not in a hurry to try another one of these. For anyone that isn’t a frequent lip balm/scrub user, isn’t bothered by stickiness (albeit mild), isn’t a compulsive lip-licker and enjoys a glossy finish, this is definitely worth a try!

Find me elsewhere:

twitter_2010_logo_-_from_commons-svgold-instagram-logo

Leave a Reply

