Beauty · Foundation

MAC Studio Fix Fluid

Before MAC, I’d been to so many different concessions hunting for the perfect foundation. I still remember exactly how I felt when the lady at MAC finished my makeup. I’d never been able to imagine what I could look like without a patchy face; I didn’t even expect to walk away with any products.

I’ve been using the MAC Studio Fix Fluid Foundation for the best part of a year now and whilst it’s by no means the perfect product I was looking for, it’s definitely a favourite of mine.

At the time, I was looking for something not matte but also not too dewy and I wanted quite a lot of coverage. I also needed something that would keep my skin hydrated. This foundation ticks all those boxes.

The first thing to point out about the Studio Fix Fluid is that whilst the packaging is lovely and looks sleek and solid, it doesn’t come with a pump by default. I don’t know why, but you have to buy the pump separately (£4.50). The pump locks and comes with a cover, which makes it travel friendly.

This foundation can give a medium, buildable to full coverage. It doesn’t feel heavy on the skin, but if you don’t use very thin layers and build it up slowly, it gets cakey very quickly.

It also has the added bonus of SPF15.

Application: I’ve tried applying this foundation with the Real Techniques pointed foundation brush, expert face brush and the miracle complexion sponge.

DSCN0173

The pointed foundation brush works quite well. There may be some streaks, but a powder takes care of that. I find that this brush requires the most product and takes the longest time to apply, but is great at layering thinly.

I used the sponge for a long time, as it’s definitely the most convenient, speedy applicator. Once I tried dampening the sponge, I couldn’t go back to using it dry and I honestly don’t know how I ever used it dry in the first place.. It’s so much harder to blend! This really doesn’t give the most flawless finish for this foundation though. I find it harder to build up thin enough layers; I’ll just accept the cake-face.

The expert face brush is the biggest winner for me. A mixture of buffing and dabbing the foundation onto my face gives the best result and requires the least product.

DSCN0175.JPG
Expert face brush: more oval than a buffing brush; so multifunctional

Bizarrely, I can’t get a perfect, flawless application with this foundation no matter how I put it on. Acceptable results though? For sure. I also find that once I leave the house, exposure to the outside air helps smooth everything out.

Setting: I’ve tried this with a mattifying setting spray and found that whilst my foundation doesn’t budge, my face looks more texturised from the get go and I’m not a fan. The MAC Mineralize Skinfinish powder isn’t a good combo either, it makes my face look and feel disgustingly greasy within half an hour.

My current favourite powder to pair with this foundation is the NYX translucent HD Studio Finishing powder, but I’ll still keep some blotting sheets handy!

Verdict: I would rate this product a 3.5/5. It’s fantastic for dryer skin types, but definitely has to be paired with the right products for decent results. Thorough colour range (I use NC15). The bottle is sturdy, thick glass which adds some weight but I still consider it to be travel friendly, especially with the pump. At £23.50, I think this foundation is reasonably priced – steeper than the drug store, but extremely long lasting (6 months+ comfortably) and noticeably better quality. The extra £4.50 for the pump is probably the main negative for me – bumping the total cost up to £28 if you want to avoid unnecessary spillages/mess.

Find me elsewhere:

twitter_2010_logo_-_from_commons-svgold-instagram-logo

 

Leave a Reply

