Beauty · Skincare

Neutrogena Rapid Clear Treatment

IMG_20170421_151638

I’ve had troublesome skin for as long as I can remember, and I still haven’t found any targeted treatments or face washes/scrubs that help get rid of my spots. The most success I’ve ever had was through changing my pill, but I had to change that again for various reasons and so my skin is back to being problematic! (thought not quite on the same scale).

I always hear great things about Neutrogena’s skincare, so I thought I’d give this a go. I’ve actually been through 2-3 of these, using it intermittently over the past few years.
To be honest, I think I’m just reluctant to waste what I already own – this product doesn’t work for me. Pretty sure I kept repurchasing it because I desperately wanted to believe it was helping, ha!

Looking at the ingredients…

Aqua, Alcohol Denat, Glycerin, Polyacrylate-13, Salicylic Acid, Cyclopentasiloxane, Polyisobutene, C12-15 Alkyl Lactate, Cetyl Lactate, PPG-2 Isoceteth-20 Acetate, Lactic Acid, Butylene Glycol, Benzalkonium Chloride, Hamamelis Virginiana, Sarcosine, Cinnamomum Zeylanicum, Cedrus Atlantica, Portulaca Oleracea, Polysorbate 20, Isoceteth-20, Capryloyl Glycine, Alcohol, Cocamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Sodium Chloride, Isopropyl Alcohol, Dipropylene Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Dehydroxanthan Gum, Propylene Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Acetic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Parfum

…I obviously have no idea what most of them are.
…But I recognise salicylic acid!

All products I’ve tried that contain salicylic acid dry out my skin. I mean, I already have dry skin.. but it makes it worse. If it’s in a face wash, I can’t use it frequently at all which probably stops it being effective; if it’s in a targeted treatment like this I’m more persistent but the spot area dries out horribly, making any makeup I apply cling to it and highlight the dryness.

This gel is supposed to “visibly reduce spots in just 4 hours” – I can’t say this has ever been true for me. As I mainly get big bumps under my skin (delightful), I don’t think the product actually gets to “work” – there’s more potential for smaller spots that actually come to a head, but I personally haven’t had any luck.

It has a nozzle for more precise application, but I don’t like to apply this directly. Psychologically, I find it more hygienic to squeeze tiny amounts onto my (clean) fingers and dab it on. This also helps prevent me using too much.

Well, for anyone that gets on well with salicylic acid, or for those with oilier skin, this is a nifty little product. It’s great for traveling too – only a 15ml tube. It lasts a long time because you only need to apply a pea sized amount (if that). For £5, this is definitely a great, affordable treatment option. I’m really disappointed it doesn’t work for me.

…My hunt continues!

Find me elsewhere:

twitter_2010_logo_-_from_commons-svgold-instagram-logo

Leave a Reply

