Beauty · Makeup removal · Skincare

The Body Shop Camomile Gentle Eye Makeup Remover

The fourth and final product within the camomile range for me to try. Well, I loved the others so I’m gonna love this one too, right? …Right? WRONG.

This product surprised me. I’d go as far as saying it didn’t even feel like it was genuinely part of the same range.

With the rest of the range, I found that the products were extremely gentle on my sensitive skin – they didn’t tug, they left no redness and my skin would be left feeling super soft. Whilst this water doesn’t generally leave any redness, I do find it harder to work with. The cotton pad needs to be pretty well soaked to avoid excessive tugging and discomfort (who wants sore eyes after removing their makeup?!) but you’ve also got to be careful not to go too crazy otherwise it drips into your eyes and gets disastrous. Kinda burns.. I speak from experience.

I don’t use waterproof eye makeup, but have found I need to hold a soaked cotton pad over the eye for a bit before attempting to wipe anything away. Even so, this product really struggles – especially with eyeliner.

I have tried using this all over the face too, after the oil/butter to complete removal as I do with the waterproof remover. I’d rather just wash my face.

On top of all that, there’s a peculiar scent I’m not familiar with. None of the other camomile products have this scent.

All in all, I certainly wouldn’t recommend this product. I’ll be repurchasing the Waterproof Eye & Lip Makeup Remover to relieve my eyeballs and I’ll be sticking to more oil based products for makeup removal from here on out!

1/5 from me. I can’t even say the packaging is a point booster as it’s really plain and I’m not a fan of opaque bottles. I like to be able to see how much product I have left. 250ml seems like a decent size, but I have to use more than I would of any other product each time so I don’t really save. At £7.50 I’d personally pay the extra £2.50 for the waterproof remover, but you can definitely get a more efficient micellar water for less money.
1 point for successful removal of mascara from some of my lashes on single-coat mascara days.

wp-1490121621971.jpg

Check out my thoughts on the rest of the camomile range:
Cleansing Butter
Silky Cleansing Oil
Waterproof Eye & Lip Makeup Remover

Find me elsewhere:twitter_2010_logo_-_from_commons-svgold-instagram-logo

3 thoughts on “The Body Shop Camomile Gentle Eye Makeup Remover

  1. I got a mini of this in the advent calendar at Christmas, was really disappointed!
    I don’t use waterproof products but wear quite heavy eye make-up and it really wasn’t effective and I also found that it stung my eyes :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, what did you think of the rest of the advent? I was really tempted to get one but didn’t in the end!
      I would highly recommend the waterproof eye and lip makeup remover in the camomile range, even if you don’t use waterproof makeup – it’s the most gentle thing I ever did try and you don’t need much 🙂

      Like

      1. The advent calendar was okay 🙂 had mainly mini shower gels and body lotions with a few makeup items. I don’t think it’d get it again though as for £60 there’s things I’d rather buy!

        Ooh I did read your review on that one actually, I think I’ll give it a go! I usually just use a face wipe then a gel-type cleanser (I know face wipes are terrible haha)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

