Beauty · Lips

NYX Lip Lingerie Lipstick: Push Up

Since NYX products became available in Boots I’ve been eager to try something from their lip range, but I always found the range so overwhelmingly huge that I always walked away with nothing.

So many people have been writing about and praising NYX lip products, so I chose one via reviews (Lip Lingerie Lipstick in the shade “Push Up”), marched into Boots and purchased it. At £6.50, the price is pretty average for a high street lipstick.. Not bad at all.

Packaging wise, there’s nothing special here; just your standard liquid lipstick tube.

wp-1485879851050.jpg

I’ve always been on the fence about matte lips – I feel like some people can pull it off amazingly, but for others it just doesn’t look flattering. For this particular product, I feel like a real scrub of the lips is needed before application and even still, it dries so matte that it can end up emphasising all the lines in your lips (especially if you apply too much). Perhaps I’m just one of those people that can’t pull off matte lips.

That said, I freaking LOVE the colour. I can’t even begin to describe the level of love.. It’s just perfect. I find that a tiny bit of product goes a long way, it’s really resistant and lasts such a long time. I can eat without feeling the need to re-apply. In fact when I swatched this, I couldn’t rub it off with my hand!

Untitled.png

This isn’t a product you want to layer up or slop on as I find that’s what makes the line-emphasis-situation worse. There’s enough pigment for a single thin layer to be enough anyway.
I like to use my trusty Maybelline Baby Lips Hydrate balm before the lipstick, as it helps combat the dry feeling. Can’t cope with dry feeling lips. This doesn’t in any way stop the lipstick setting matte!

I personally don’t re-apply this throughout the day, because my lips get too dry over time and would probably need another scrub before the second application. I find this product most ideal for errands or shorter outings, not so much 8+ hour days.

I don’t dislike this product; I’m definitely gonna keep using it to see if I can find the perfect application. I like the flat applicator!

wp-1485972358561.jpg

I’d currently rate this a 3/5.

I also bought the Revlon Ultra HD Matte Lipstick in the shade “Seduction” to compare.. But for the sake of not making this post unbearably long, I’ll write about that separately..

 

 

One thought on “NYX Lip Lingerie Lipstick: Push Up

Leave a Reply

