Beauty · Birchbox

Birchbox #2: January Happiness?

So last month I was pretty much on the fence with my first Birchbox. Thought the packaging was amazing, but half the contents weren’t really useful for me. 

This month, Birchbox are definitely winning with packaging again. I’ve actually put this box on top of my beauty drawers as a shameless extra.

bbox

Content wise, I got:

  • Merci Handy Hand Cream, Cherie Cherry

Holy freaking wow. I have no words to describe my love for this product. The scent is perfection and the teeniest smidge is enough to make your hands feels soft as a baby’s bum. It doesn’t leave a greasy feeling. This is the first product I’m actually considering repurchasing when I run out, and I’ve always had my one hand cream I never thought I’d be converted from.

  • Nails Inc. Nail Polish, A-Deep-Purple-Shade-Of-Sorts

I haven’t used nail polish in the longest time as I’m now a fully converted Jamberry addict, but I’m always happy to add to my collection. Purple? Yes, give me anything purple, thanks for getting this right Birchbox ^_^

  • Whish Shave Crave, Acai & Grapefruit Shaving Cream

In short, I hated this product. Smells offensive (to my nose). Claims to nourish, smooth and moisturise.. Ok, it was a tad easier to run a razor along my leg.. But after rinsing, my legs just felt rubbery. No, please, just no.

  • Lord & Berry Concealer Stick, Beige

Not the right shade, tugs at my skin too much. That is all.

  • Kebelo Clarifying Shampoo

This right here has me wondering why I have a profile to fill in. I have coloured hair, the box is ticked on my profile, but I’ve been sent a product that can fade hair colour. I didn’t even test this, I gave it away.

wp-1485889078882.jpg
Gave the shampoo away before I remembered photos!

I actually cancelled my subscription the other day. Short lived experiment, but half my boxes are useless (for me personally – I’m sure there are people out there that are extremely satisfied with their boxes) – for £12.95 a month, it’s not feeling worth it. I gave/threw away at least 4 products from my 2 boxes.

As a positive though, it’s pretty cool that you get £10 to spend in the Birchbox store with every 100 points you accumulate – you can build points through referrals and reviews. You can get up to 50 points each month just from reviewing your box & its contents, so after just 2 months you already have £10 to spend. Referrals give you £10 straight up, plus that person gets £5 off their first box. Nifty.

2 thoughts on “Birchbox #2: January Happiness?

    1. I haven’t! I was eyeballing glossybox and lovemebeauty was recommended.. but I’m stepping away from beauty boxes for a while. Had to tighten my budget after buying a car… doh. But I will add this to the list to pick from when I start one again, thanks for mentioning it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

