Beauty · Skincare

The Body Shop Face Masks

There’s something incredibly satisfying about rubbing a product all over your face, sitting for ~15mins and then washing it off…

I don’t actually use face masks all that often – usually they recommend once or twice a week, but I might do one once or twice a month. I feel like my face is rubbed enough on a regular basis…

  1. Tea Tree Clearing Mask, £11

My first face mask was The Body Shop’s Tea Tree Face Mask, now called the Tea Tree Clearing Mask. I’ve had this for so long the packaging and name changed…
I got this when my skin was more acne-prone. In general, I’ve never found tea tree products to be skin clearing and this face mask was no exception, I don’t really know what I was expecting! That said, I don’t dislike this product. Tea tree usually makes my spots feel dry and bleurgh, but this mask leaves my whole face feeling soft, clean and fresh. It’s not drying either. I also quite like the smell of tea tree; and the tingle that makes you feel like the product is actually doing something.
I personally find it way more fun to use a coloured face mask, so I take great pleasure in slopping this onto my face and turning myself into Shrek. Perfect for sensitive skin, I never have any redness after wiping off with a wet flannel.

2. British Rose Plumping Mask, £16

Back in November I couldn’t resist trying something from The Body Shop’s latest face mask range. I was advised to go for the British Rose Plumping Mask for maximum hydration and glow. I’m always skeptical with “plumping” or “anti-aging” products, because I’m only in my early 20s! …Nevertheless, I went with it. I love how my skin feels after using this mask – super soft, smooth and definitely hydrated. Not a massive fan of the scent, although it’s not overpowering or overly offensive when it’s on your face and it doesn’t linger once the mask is washed off so I’m not too fussed.
I got bored of this mask really quickly, because it’s a clear gel… But I’ll be hanging on to it for hydration purposes.

wp-1484852437075.jpg

3. Warming Mineral Mask, £11

So I ran out of the Tea Tree mask and the plumping mask wasn’t exciting enough… I ventured back to The Body Shop and spotted the Warming Mineral Mask. I prefer face masks being in tubs rather than tubes, as to me it looks like I’m getting more product. Seeing this in tube form I was immediately concerned it wouldn’t last very long, but it is in fact the same size as the other two.
Being a clay mask I figured it’d be a step up from the clear gel in terms of colour excitement. This mask is applied onto wet skin and doesn’t harden or “dry out” ..so it remains quite pale. The excitement in this mask comes from the fact that it’s warming – when you rub it onto your skin, a mass of heat just penetrates your face.. it’s  a m a z i n g; like you’ve just put your face against a hot water bottle. Intense. I don’t mind the smell of ginger, so this product doesn’t offend my nose. Not as hydrating as the plumping mask, but also not drying. This mask leaves my face feeling clean (I’d be a tad concerned if a mask didn’t), but there were no extraordinary results. The heat kinda makes it feel like it’s doing more than it is.

wp-1484852627313.jpg

These masks definitely serve their own purposes. I highly rate the British Rose mask for hydration and softening when needed, but for more regular use I’d probably stick with the Tea Tree one. The Mineral mask is great for that warmth but I don’t see any spectacular results, thus preferring the Tea Tree for a) the colour, b) the smell and c) the gentleness.

wp-1484852443928.jpg

 

4 thoughts on “The Body Shop Face Masks

  1. If you’re not super satisfied with the Body Shop masks then I’d encourage you to check out the Lush masks. I tried a couple of Body Shop products in the past but they didn’t blow me away either. Lush on the other hand has definitely made a huge difference. My favorites are probably Mask of Magnaminty and Herbalism, they do wonders for my sensitive skin. Great reviews though, very helpful.

    Would you be interested in sharing your work on Creators.co? I’m currently on a personal mission to expand the Lifestyle section of the platform, and i’m therefore looking for people with an interest in writing and who are looking to increase their readership. Let me know if you’d be up for that. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail for more information, you can find my contact details on my blog. Would love to hear from you.

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading and for the suggestion of Lush face masks – I actually hadn’t thought of them 🙂

      Thanks also for the invite to contribute to your website, but for now I’ll have to pass. Will definitely contact you if I can get some structure to my life, properly incorporate writing and realistically reconsider!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

