Beauty · Birchbox

The Start of a Beauty Box Venture

Hey guys,

After having spent an unhealthy amount on beauty products over the last few months, I figured Birchbox could be a really cost-effective venture. Seeming to be the best way to try a wide range of products without having to commit to the bigger costs, I now have a monthly subscription.

Being my first month, I filled in my profile and just hoped for the best; I didn’t really know what to expect.

Let me start by saying how impressive the packaging was.
A simple but beautiful box and a little pouch within, both potentially reusable.

The products I received were:

Ciaté Fierce Flicks Eyeliner (Full Size)
I tried this once, but I can’t see myself reaching for it very often. It’s really difficult to get the lid off! Beyond that, the brush itself is very sturdy, making it easy to draw lines and do bigger flicks. It’s just not ideal for my eyeliner style – I get better small flicks out of my Maybelline Master Precise liner. Impressed that this was a full-size item though.

Percy & Reed Perfectly Perfecting Wonder Balm
Not the most useful product for me – I don’t style my hair (ha!) …That said, I did put some of this in before a blowdry, and noticed that my hair didn’t feel as smooth/soft as usual. On the plus side though, it smells amazing.

Benefit Benetint
Probably the most useless item for me, personally. You have to use a lot of product to get any “tint” out of this.. Perhaps my natural lip colour is just awkward, but I don’t have the patience for it – I’d much rather stick to a lipstick or gloss. So much easier to build colour.

Elemis Hydra-Boost Day Cream
Generally I find you need to use a moisturiser continuously for quite a long period of time before you can know if it’s making a difference or not. Being a mini, I can’t do this.. However.. After one use, I was immediately impressed. For dry skin? Yes! Thank you Birchbox! The smell wasn’t overpowering or offensive, it made my skin feel soft and I’m pretty sure my makeup went on better. Well, I wouldn’t expect much less from Elemis. I can only imagine what wonders this product would do for my skin in the long-term.

Anatomicals Coconut & Mango Body Lotion
I’m a sucker for anything coconut scented; coconut is one of my favourite scents. Usually I find mango scented things quite sickly and overpowering, but I was pleasantly surprised at how amazing the 2 scents smelt combined. Slightly dominated by the coconut side, but a perfect balance for me.

wp-1483137454085.jpg

All in all, fairly mixed feelings about this box. I’m not too disappointed though; still looking forward to January’s! Hopefully next time the products will be better tailored to meeeeee..

Leave a Reply

