Beauty · Makeup removal · Skincare

The Body Shop Silky Cleansing Oil

Silky? Yep..
Cleansing? Yep..
Oily? YES.

Another super efficient product in The Body Shop’s camomile range, but not my personal favourite.

I’ve been using this oil regularly (though not quite daily) since the end of August/beginning of September and I’m barely half way through the bottle! For £10, this product is amazing value for money.untitled

Application: I don’t think I’d ever use my hands for this, as it would get far too messy. It’s definitely a step up against the cleansing butter (review here) in terms of greasiness (well it’s an oil, so…)
I use a cotton pad – admittedly I would probably enjoy this product a lot more if I were willing to buy softer cotton pads, but currently that isn’t the case.

For an oil this product is very thin, which is brilliant.

My personal cons stem from the fact that I use cheap, low quality cotton pads – if a small
amount of product is applied I feel the roughness of the cotton pad over anything else, which leads me to use more. At this point, although the roughness is reduced, there is a tonne of oil on my face (that said, it doesn’t feel thick, just… oily). Only at this point do I feel content that the product is doing it’s job.

I don’t remove my eye makeup with this oil due to the cotton pad situation, but instead I use the Waterproof Eye & Lip Makeup Remover because it’s a water rather than oil, so it absorbs. Once I’m satisfied that my makeup is all gone, I’ll either give my face a once over with the Waterproof Eye & Lip Makeup Remover, or I’ll just rinse the oil off.

Only around the half way mark but I’ve already repurchased this product. Similar to the cleansing butter, despite all the rubbing with a not-overly-soft cotton pad, my skin ends up really (silky) smooth, soft and clean with no redness. I may eventually cave and buy some better quality cotton pads to see if there’s actually a difference.

Full ingredients, for anyone interested: Glycine Soja Oil/Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil (Emollient/Skin Conditioner), Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis Oil/Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil/Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil (Emollient), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (Emollient), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (Emollient), Ethylhexyl Palmitate (Skin Conditioning Agent), Isohexadecane (Emollient/Solvent), Polysorbate 85 (Surfactant-Emulsifying), Sorbitan Trioleate (Surfactant-Emulsifying), Sesamum Indicum Seed Oil/Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Octyldodecanol (Emollient), Parfum/Fragrance (Fragrance), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), Tocopherol (Antioxidant), Limonene (Fragrance Ingredient), Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil (Fragrance/Essential Oil), Citric Acid (pH Adjuster)

Previous review: The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Butter 

Upcoming: Waterproof Eye & Lip Makeup Remover

2 thoughts on “The Body Shop Silky Cleansing Oil

Leave a Reply

