Beauty · Makeup removal · Skincare

The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Butter

I eventually got fed up of reading about how makeup wipes aren’t good for your skin; how you’re just spreading dirt around and basically not doing yourself any favours. I was noticing that wipes were leaving quite a bit of makeup behind when I’d go in with a cleanser/toner afterwards too, so I decided to branch out….

…And I’m so glad I did.

I’ve now become one of those people that insist face wipes are rubbish and I am forever converted to The Body Shop’s camomile range.

Within the range are four products:

  • A cleansing butter
  • A waterproof eye & lip makeup remover
  • A gentle eye makeup remover
  • A silky cleansing oil

The cleansing butter was the first one I tried.

en-gb-camomile-sumptuous-cleansing-butter-1-640x640At £10, my immediate thought was that the price was quite steep compared to the 3 for £5 face wipes I was so accustomed to. Wrong! A little goes a long way with this product (though that doesn’t stop me slopping it on!) even to remove quite a full coverage foundation.

Application: I’ve tried using my hands and a cotton pad, my personal preference being hands, as I find you get a more even spread and you’re less likely to use too much product.

A lot of people are put off by the “greasy” feel, but realistically, it’s a butter. It’s gonna be greasy. A quick rinse after a rub around my face and honestly, my skin feels softer than ever. You’d never guess I’d just smeared a butter all over it and also, no matter how much I use, I don’t ever find it to be thick.
When I use any lotions before I go to sleep, there’s pretty much no makeup/dirt coming off anymore.

However I use this product, no matter how much I rub, my skin doesn’t come out red at all – a huge deal for me. Face wipes (even those for sensitive skin, although less so) leave me with a lot of redness, so the “calming” part of the product description is definitely accurate!

Absolutely no doubt I’ll be repurchasing this, to get a better idea of how long it can last.

Full ingredients, for anyone interested:
Ethylhexyl Palmitate (Skin Conditioning Agent), Synthetic Wax (Binder/Emollient), PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate (Skin Conditioning Agent), Olea Europaea Fruit Oil/Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil (Emollient), Butyrospermum Parkii Butter/Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter (Skin Conditioning Agent – Emollient), Caprylyl Glycol (Skin Conditioning Agent), Tocopherol (Antioxidant), Parfum/Fragrance (Fragrance), Aqua/Water (Solvent/Diluent), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), Limonene (Fragrance Ingredient), Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil/Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil (Emollient), Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract (Natural Additive), Citric Acid (pH Adjuster)

Next review: The Body Shop Silky Cleansing Oil

3 thoughts on “The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Butter

Leave a Reply

